Happy Canadian Thanksgiving!

Hello my friends, this time of year is back around again.

I know that Canadian and the US thanksgivings are actually not on the same day (or even the same month) but did you know why?  Because Canada has a colder climate, the farmers’ harvest season ends a little sooner than in our southern friend, the US.  Thanksgiving is a time for families to be thankful for the (hopefully) plentiful harvest as they prepare for the frigid winters – obviously you cannot grow crops then!

I guess personally, I like to reflect over the past 10 months to see what exactly I am thankful for.  I am thankful to my parents for giving me the opportunity to study at an excellent university and for enabling and encouraging me to pursue anything I wanted (although I do share the passion for computer science with my Father!).  There are many, many other things I am thankful for, but most of it is cliched and you probably don’t want to hear about them anyway, haha.happy-thanksgiving-images

Onto more serious things, the new round of internship applications have started to trickle in at my company, so the management team will soon be very busy.  In order to alleviate some of this stress, I have opted to take on a few more responsibilities around the office and have taken a bit more liberty on my assignments and projects.  That isn’t to say that I do things how I want to – I ensure that every involved team member is aware of what I am doing and approves.  In other words, I do the heavy lifting and my team can tell me if I am on the right track, or what needs changing.  I gain a bit more experience and independence, and my team can focus on their own work – everyone wins.

As for my open-source work, I have slowly been gaining more challenging tasks.  Most of the issues I resolved previously were isolated and not high on the priority list.  With a bit more understanding under my belt, I am being given more opportunities to discuss with other team members and actually have a voice.  This is a wonderful step forward, and I am eagerly waiting to see what happens next!

Author:

Passionate computer scientist, avid swimmer, big nerd.

Leave a Reply

