Mid summer plans

Well, we’re into August now and the heat just keeps coming.  Even in a cool place like Toronto the sun and heat get pretty strong, capping out at around 35 degrees Celsius.  Nothing compares to some of the southern states, but it’s quite toasty for me!

Things have been pretty uneventful at work – these last couple of weeks I have still be working on the project I described in my previous post – making two-dimensional objects appear three-dimensional when viewing in CAD mode.

The real update comes from my side projects – as you may know, I have been keeping connections with my UCOSP mentor as well as Mozilla in general.  I am just about to get started on some new projects – luckily for me, they are in C++ instead of Python, which means I should be able to adapt quickly and produce results.  One of my major concerns previously was lack of productivity arising from my love-hate relationship with Python in the Jupyter project.  Python is extremely easy to write, which is wonderful, but difficult when you need to read other developers’ code.  There is way to easily determine object type and thus see the class definition – a tactic I often use to determine the restrictions and capabilities on a specific object.  Without it, I find myself gazing into a black box, and that makes things quite difficult for me to grasp.

On the other hand, it is just more things for me to gain exposure in, so I can become a well-rounded developer!

 

Author:

Passionate computer scientist, avid swimmer, big nerd.

Leave a Reply

