Graduation 2016

Well I have done it.  I have finally and officially completed my undergraduate education at the University of Toronto, graduating with high honours, and can now call myself an esteemed alum.

It has been a long (actually pretty short, I am going to miss being a student) and arduous journey.  I have met many intelligent people, had the opportunity to learn from skilled peers and professors and ultimately, I feel more prepared and ready to make a difference in the world.

Reflecting on the 4 + PEY (16 months) years at the university, everything went pretty much how I had planned, which is surprising.  Many people I knew had changed majors or specializations once or twice throughout their university career, but I stayed true to what I decided on in high school.  I grew up in a very technology-based household, having been exposed to games, programming and the black magic box that is a computer, since I was probably 5 years old.  I have always enjoyed tinkering, playing and messing around with different devices and moving parts to see what I could make them do.  Unfortunately such a hobby is very expensive when things start to break, and as a child I had to ration my $5 allowance sparingly.  Once I grew up and learned about programming, I was able to create, break and fix things that did not take physical form.  With the expense issue out of the equation, I knew this was the field for me.

Fast-forward 10 odd years, here I am talking like I’m already an old man.  What am I doing?  I should be enjoying my youth before it is too late!

Ah well, I enjoy what I do and I will continue to create, innovate and learn as much as I can.  Whether that be in my current workplace, a future workplace, or back in the classroom.  I look forward to what the future brings.

 

Author:

Passionate computer scientist, avid swimmer, big nerd.

Leave a Reply

